1024 S MAIN ST, SALINAS, CA, 93901-2360 
831-422-4132
Full service

Business Hours:
11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
11:00 AM - 09:00 PM
Restaurant Location
Small city, town, or suburb
Number of Employees
Number of Seats
Average Price
$5.99-$7.99
Restaurant Type
Full service
Main Stream Americans
Offers
$10.00-$15.00

Ratings 10 people have voted

Awards and Honors

50AVG:(5.0)
48AVG:(4.8)
45AVG:(4.5)
41AVG:(4.1)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top 100 local Favorite  (2011)
Top 100 Healthy Menus  (2010)

Comments(32)   

Reviewed by: benchken49 on: 2018/7/2 8:06:00
Best food in the area
Reviewed by: alancoopermagic8 on: 2018/6/28 13:33:06
This place used to be good, now the food has a lack of flavor and since they reopened it's way over price and portion are smaller. The trifecta of a looser restaurant.
Reviewed by: ang1313us on: 7/16/2016 5:49:54 PM
Great food. I have eaten all over the world but this is the best....
Reviewed by: sudee999 on: 5/15/2016 9:28:48 PM
I agree with the others...it would be very beneficial for you to offer delivery service. Do you know how many of us who live in south Salinas would love to have Chinese food delivered, instead of pizza (the only food that delivers here)? You are missing out on a lot of business for those of us who cannot go to your restaurant.
Reviewed by: pokerchef5 on: 11/15/2015 10:19:21 AM
I remember when I was a kid in the 70's my grand parents use to take me here on Saturday nights before going to the Filipino hall for music and dance. Good memories. I wonder if the same family still owns it.
Reviewed by: shannellev on: 11/8/2015 8:05:18 PM
So glad to read this wonderful and so truly deserved article regarding the BEST menu and friendliest atmosphere in town. ; - )
Reviewed by: pscfaces on: 5/27/2015 11:42:32 AM
would like to see larger scale of ordering for catering or party trays....home delivery would be great like the good ole days..
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2/11/2013 11:34:38 AM
Reviewed by: karmasuncle on: 8/31/2012 11:25:23 AM
I think you would bring in a lot more business if you delivered, no other chinese resturaunts in town deliver, and not very many companies have a lot of lunch time to stop by and pick up an order.
Reviewed by: hernandezattuser on: 8/13/2012 10:00:07 AM
Order to go. took to long 50 minutes from time I called in order to time I was handed the food. Food was cold, not much flavor. Disappointed. No doubt this is the best food in town, but with service and food like what I got on Sunday I may have to start looking for another place to eat.
Reviewed by: 74jarce on: 2011-09-12
Golden Star Restaurant is THE best chinese restaurant in the Salinas Valley. I've never been to china but I'd like to think that the food they serve is as close to authentic as one can get. The food is always hot and fresh. If you're looking for fast service and quick food, then go somewhere else. I'm not saying that Golden Star has slow service, but you can't rush perfection. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for the BEST chinese restaurant in the Salinas Valley.
Reviewed by: 74jarce on: 2011-09-12
Golden Star Restaurant is THE best chinese restaurant in the Salinas Valley. I've never been to china but I'd like to think that the food they serve is as close to authentic as one can get. The food is always hot and fresh. If you're looking for fast service and quick food, then go somewhere else. I'm not saying that Golden Star has slow service, but you can't rush perfection. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for the BEST chinese restaurant in the Salinas Valley.
Reviewed by: foolishprodigy on: 2011-08-08
Great food without too much salt. You can taste the fresh ingrediants
Reviewed by: jay on: 2011-06-02
6/2/11 Mann Packing Co. the fried rice in today's order is from over night, its quality/taste isn't good.
Reviewed by: digitaldude360 on: 2010-12-17
My very large Italian family has been eating at this restaurant since the 80's with my great grandfather Henry Sbranna ordering the whole menu until he passed recently, and it has been a place i still stop by while passing through town. I've been all over America, and, being the son of a Navy man, have ate my share of the chinese foods across the U.S. Nothing has ever lived up to this small chinese food restaurant's menu, from perfect pork fried rice to the various types of egg foo young, I've ate everything on their menu. Just outside Monterey, Ca. in Salinas is a nice quiet evening for you chinese food lovers at the Golden Star, enjoy.
Reviewed by: ardmom on: 2010-11-03
Golden Star is the best chinese food in Salinas. It is always very fresh,the prices are soooo reasonable,servise is great and the amount of food you get is crazy! The decor is 1960's...but I kinda think it adds to the charm of the restaurant and the dedicated people that have worked there for so many years! GO TRY IT!!!!!
Reviewed by: lndjimenez on: 2010-10-29
this is the best chinese restaurant in salinas,,its also very unexpensive and the people treat you really good.
Reviewed by: lndjimenez on: 2010-10-29
this is the best chinese restaurant in salinas,,its also very unexpensive and the people treat you really good.
Reviewed by: bornbrutal on: 2010-10-06
1st time there and best i ever had!!!
Reviewed by: ajrobles1 on: 2010-08-22
Hello,I've been going to this restaurant for 50 yr.Ever since I was a child.My parents went there as well.The food has not changed it's made fresh and uses the freshest vegetables around.The soups are to die for...and the prices are very reasonable and not to mention the greetings I receive every time I visit there Sandy has always a warm smile and a very beautiful way that she greets everyone there, she makes you feel like well"Family"...A must to go place...I take all my friends there.
Reviewed by: c6800 on: 2010-07-12
Very good food and service. Golden Star has the best crispy noodles in town.
Reviewed by: doinit on: 2010-06-25
The waitress is very beautiful and the food is good also!
Reviewed by: Anna on: 2010-06-04
Heathy food, great service, I love it.
Reviewed by: Jakechen1169 on: 2010-06-04
Very tasty food, friendly people, great service, recommended everything on the menu.
Reviewed by: m.choy on: 2010-05-18
Great dishes at a good price. I love the Kung Pao Chicken & the House Special Wor Wonton.
Reviewed by: sbs.romond on: 2010-03-19
The food is so healthy !!!!!
Reviewed by: mr.ed1092 on: 2010-03-18
The best chinese food in Salinas. I've been eating here since before I was born. My favorite is the sweet and sour pork and the mandarin chicken wings.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on:
Great food, nice staff, good prices. I recommend the Ku ick > ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on:
Reliable, and affordable. A great place to stop for a quick lunch on a workday. Very friendly staff ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on:
I'm flabbergasted - Golden Star is at best mediocre. There's absolutely no flavor to anything - no seasoning detectable. It's like eating when you have ...?
Reviewed by: vanessa p. on: 2008-08-02
The smallest little diner with the most excellent food and service. The quality is always on point and the staff is very kind and friendly. My family always orders the special dinner #2 for four. I absolutely love the egg flower soup, ...?
Reviewed by: Kim on: 2009-08-17
WOW! Very clean, casual, small Chinese diner's owner/ operators of 40 years retired, 14 years ago. The current owners (14 years) carry on a successful tradition of serving up HUGE portions of excellent dishes at extremely low prices. ...?