312 Pennsylvania Ave SE, Washington, DC, 20003-1147 
202-544-3030
Full service

Business Hours:
Mon - Thurs: 11:00am - 10:30pm
Fri & Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Restaurant Location
Major city
Number of Employees
5+
Number of Seats
101+
Average Price
$7.99-$9.99
Restaurant Type
Full service
Main Stream Americans
Offers
$10.00-$15.00

Ratings 55 people have voted

Awards and Honors

269AVG:(4.9)
264AVG:(4.8)
268AVG:(4.9)
264AVG:(4.8)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top 100 Asian Restaurants (Dining Excellence)  (2011)

Comments(35)   

Reviewed by: Kelsey F. on: 1/10/2014 2:36:32 AM
We knew we wanted drunken noodles and we knew there was some to be found on Pennsylvania so my group of three ended up walking into Young Chow's around 2pm on a Saturday. The menu was huge, the service was great and the food was exactly what we were looking for.The menu has Chinese, Thai and sushi options galore. I was tempted to try one of the many sushi dishes especially since the sushi chef looked a little bored behind the bar. Having not eaten yet, we were all starving so sushi just wasn't going to cut it. We each ended up ordering a soup before our meals. The miso soup looked especially tasty. My egg drop soup was a touch on the oily side, but warm and satisfactory otherwise.My two friends ordered the drunken noodles. I ended up going with the Pad See-Ew which is a sweeter dish with large noodles, broccoli and chicken. The drunken noodles were pretty spicy so I'm glad I opted for a less risky dish. We all ended up eating about half of our meal and getting the rest boxed up for later. Apparently when you get their food to-go, they package the sauce separate so it isn't leaking all over you. That is reason enough to pick Young Chow's over other Asian places.Our waitress was really nice and the food came out perfectly timed. Just as we were taking our last bite of soup, the main dishes arrived. The bathrooms are downstairs and are a little on the sketchy side so maybe don't use them here. Other than that, there were no real complaints. I would absolutely come back to try other dishes on the menu and would recommend Young Chow's for a quick Asian lunch if you are on the Hill.
Reviewed by: Donald C. on: 1/5/2014 12:28:19 PM
had a very nice mealwas empty on a cold Sunday nightbut we both enjoyed out mealsShrimp Egg Fu youngand Crispy chicken
Reviewed by: Nkanyezi P. on: 11/16/2013 3:40:32 AM
I ordered vegetable egg rolls, chicken lo mein, white rice and Pad See Eww. The lo mein had a decent taste and so did the egg rolls. The Pad See Eww definitely was not a good option it tasted like Chinese food not Thai. Next time I will stick w/Thai Chili for my Pad See Eww.
Reviewed by: Rob S. on: 10/16/2013 11:34:13 AM
Ordered delivery. The food not even so so. The Kung Pao Combination was horrible and actually smelled rotten. The beef was like small pieces of cardboard and the dish didn't have the Kung Pao flavor at all. The Crispy Beef was a slightly more palatable in that the orange (tangerine peel) sauce was tangy. The fried rice wasn't fried at all just steamed with some egg and soy sauce in it and was light brown without flavor as a result. I don't think I'll order from them again..not worth the risk.
Reviewed by: Christopher P. on: 9/9/2013 8:28:12 AM
OK, I lied! I didn't actually come here for my check in, but had them for delivery. I've never set foot in the restaurant but order delivery fairly regularly from grub hub. I like that they have a wide variety of noodles to pick from and delivery time is normally pretty quick. Sunday afternoon and my food arrived about a half hour after I ordered. Very impressive. Unfortunately the cap hill noodle thing was really salty but suspect that might have been a mistake, it was the first time I tried that dish, but don't rememebr any of there other dish's being that salty.
Reviewed by: Vacation W. on: 8/29/2013 5:30:14 AM
Was looking for decent Chinese food for delivery. Tried one place and it was horrible. Delivery was too long and when the food arrived the sauces and liquids were all leaked inside the bag.For D.C. Young Chow was fantastic! Delivery time was reasonable and everything was packaged as you would expect. I got the General Tsao's chicken, meat dumplings and fried pork rolls. They were excellent and good enough to eat the leftovers the next day.If you are looking for good Chinese take out or delivery, I highly recommend them.
Reviewed by: Natasha U. on: 8/12/2013 3:13:44 AM
Who told me to get delivery of Thai food from a Chinese Take Out? Ughhh..I ordered some Pad Thai (Combination) and hubby ordered Kung Pao Shrimp. Should have gotten the Chinese food. The Pad Thai was absolutely DREADFUL. I couldn't really eat it. No veggies really and no flavor. It was just a lot of noodles. I do a better job at home with this. I was just lazy to do it myself. I am still kicking myself for not just getting Chinese food instead. Anyway, the good part of this is that the delivery of our food was very swift and the driver came right to my door. Drivers at almost every other delivery service I have used in DC do not come to the door and instead just call from outside and I have to go down and get it. So I was definitely impressed with the speed and courtesy with which they delivered the food. I just wished the food was good lol
Reviewed by: Joe T. on: 8/11/2013 7:50:37 AM
Wow wow wow wow wow wow wow. How am I just learning about this place for the first time?Awesome. A tiny storefront hiding an amazing restaurant with delicious bubble tea and a whole menu section full of yummy "vegetarian meat" dishes! They came with a mixture of tofu, vegetables, and faux beef or faux chicken, covered in tasty sauce. With rice. Very good.
Reviewed by: Emili J. on: 8/1/2013 6:15:24 AM
I ordered some food last night from Young Chow. When I got to about my fifth bite, I looked down and noticed a baby cockroach in my food! After I dry heaved for about 5 minutes, I called and complained. They did credit me back, but then said I have 30% off next order. HA! Yea right!
Reviewed by: Tiffany M. on: 6/19/2013 6:26:21 AM
We order from Young Chow all the time, and couldn't be happier. First, they're the only Chinese delivery place on Capitol Hill that allows you to order online, directly from them. I've ordered online, over the phone and eaten at Young Chow in person and I've never encountered anyone rude. At times they're a little slow getting our order to us when we deliver, but overall the price, food quality and friendliness keeps us coming back again and again.
Reviewed by: Kati R. on: 6/12/2013 11:22:57 AM
Bad service, not authentic.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2013-05-26
Reviewed by: Jess H. on: 3/22/2013 5:57:00 PM
After a series of disappointing meals, I have to downgrade Young Chow to 1 star. Despite my love of hot and sour soup, our go-to delivery option has now become Thai food from Sanphan. Young Chow has messed up our orders several times now - leaving out the rice completely one time, not putting in any crispy things for the hot and sour soup another time (those crispy things are a vital part of the soup-eating experience). They're also not consistent with their delivery times -- especially with online ordering, which I don't recommend. I ordered my food at 7:45 tonight -- when I finally called to check in on it at 8:35, it seemed like they had just checked the computer and were just starting my order. The woman on the phone tried to tell me that my order didn't go through until 8:11, but I have an email from their online ordering system with a 7:47 timestamp. Nevertheless, they told me they were busy and it would be another 25 or 30 minutes -- I got my food at about 9:10. In addition to all of that, the food hasn't been what it used to be. The crispy chicken (which used to be our favorite) hasn't been crispy the last three times we've gotten it - it's been soggy and lackluster. I tried the thai basil chicken tonight and it was not good at all. I honestly don't know if I'll order anything from Young Chow again -- it seems like it's time to find a new Chinese restaurant!
Reviewed by: Sjiona J. on: 2/20/2013 3:07:00 AM
It's hit or miss at this place. One delivery the food is good, tasty, loads of flavor. Next time veggies are bad/brown, little to no meat in your dish and down right no flavor at all. This is about my 5th time and it's 2 for and 3 against. I doubt if I will order again due to the bad veggies in today's lunch order.
Reviewed by: Wiley R. on: 12/29/2012 2:22:00 PM
Ordered delivery here twice. The first time it was just not great, the second time it was DISGUSTING and also made me sick. Do not recommend. Also, they got my order wrong.
Reviewed by: Tj S. on: 12/24/2012 12:14:00 AM
Crab Rangoon is great! Food is always consistently good. In spite of the delivery driver going to the wrong house the first two times, reversing two digits, it has still become our go to Chinese in the area. You can probably find better Chinese if you search the whole city, but you will not be disappointed here!
Reviewed by: Luke C. on: 12/10/2012 9:33:00 AM
The sushi is above average (taste very good but the sushi is not held as tight together as Sushi Ko), and very good for the price (especially happy hour prices). However, it gets four stars for its dumplings (which, by themselves, deserve five stars). My grandmother has always made the best dumplings. I have never ever tasted dumplings like my grandmother made until coming here. And believe me, I was not expecting it. My grandmother is Austrian and this is a Japanese restaurant. But the quality of ingredients, obvious indication that the dumplings were hand made with hand made dough, made these taste exactly like my grandmother's. I know, that probably doesn't mean a lot to someone without my frame of reference, but trust me, the steamed dumplings are to die for.You know they are not frozen because, one, they are larger than normal; and, two, when you compress a dumpling into place around the filler (e.g., port, plums, veggies), there is a distinct pattern that should be made if the maker uses a his/her thumb as opposed to a machine. Well, it's definitely a thumb pattern at Young Chow and the dumplings are definitely larger than normal. I know I'm basing this review off of one appetizer, but I really must say it was quite a wonderful dish. I have eaten at high-scale restaurants all over the world. Sometimes you find the best food in the most unusual of places. I cannot attest to the rest of the menu (except for the above average sushi) but as far as the steamed dumplings are concerned, you cannot find anything better in DC. I would seriously recommend this place just for the dumplings.
Reviewed by: Courtney W. on: 11/20/2012 12:19:00 PM
Sub-par sushi, rolls poorly rolled and not very flavorful.
Reviewed by: Ashley K. on: 11/11/2012 12:11:00 PM
Definitely will be my new go-to for Chinese delivery. They offer free delivery on Foodler (http://www.foodler.com/r…) so placing an order is super easy.I tried the Thai style curry fried rice with vegetables, and it was quite tasty. I also really like the Hong Kong chow fun...it's delicious! But my favorite food item here is the dim sum shrimp dumpling. They are amazing!!
Reviewed by: James C. on: 10/5/2012 11:10:00 AM
I went here for lunch after finding out they now have sushi. Oddly enough the sushi and the hot and sour soup were very very sweet. The sushi also appeared to look more like ground fish that sliced. I can't speak to the chinese main dishes but steer clear of the sushi (and soup unless you like it sweet).
Reviewed by: Anthony L. on: 8/24/2012 7:45:00 PM
I've been desperately trying to find a go-to Chinese place on Capitol Hill for the times I'm craving some delivery. The food at Young Chow always seems a bit undercooked. Not to say it's unsafe, but I'm always left wishing they had just left it in the frying pan for another 5 minutes. The general texture of their chicken, for example, is a bit too mushy and gelatinous.I think Hunan Dynasty is slightly better although there's a terrible selection in the Capitol Hill area.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth H. on: 8/20/2012 3:17:00 AM
My friend and I went to this restaurant to redeem a voucher. I'd say. I felt it was a good deal for the amount of money I actually spent. However, I was not impressed with the service. (My friend and I went on Saturday night.) I would have preferred the take out option. (There was nobody in the restaurant on Saturday night.) It seemed like they were getting a lot of calls for take out. (The voucher was for the dine-in option only). In conclusion, it's okay, if you nowhere else to go and better for take out than a dine-in option.
Reviewed by: Andrew L. on: 8/18/2012 9:56:00 PM
Young Chow is my favorite Chinese restaurant on Capitol Hill. You'll find people from the Library of Congress' Asian Division and Capitol Hill staffers having lunch here. The Young Chow waitstaff are fast, friendly, and attentive.Young Chow features Hunan and Szechwan cuisine as well as Sushi.Young Chow was redecorated and reopened under new management in fall 2011. The change also introduced a completely new menu to the restuarant and relauched it as pan-Asian cuisine. The Hot and Sour Soup is still the best, thick and nicely flavored. Traditional Chinese dishes have been rethought. I like the Szechuan Chicken among them. (Soup included.) Sushi has been introduced as a new menu offering. The Lunch Combination offers a generous sampling of Sushi items, together with soup or salad.
Reviewed by: Monica S. on: 8/10/2012 6:56:00 AM
Thanks Yelp! Found out about Young Chow through you guys, and so happy I did. I recently moved to the Hill and was unhappy with the couple Chinese places I had ordered from before. I ordered the Tofu with Basil and added mixed veggies to it - and I received exactly what I ordered. Furthermore, it wasn't swimming in grease, which is always a pleasant surprise when you're ordering delivery from a Chinese place. Anyway, I'll definitely be ordering delivery and/or take out from these folks again. So relieved to have found a good Chinese place in my new neighborhood!
Reviewed by: Jordan G. on: 8/2/2012 10:16:00 AM
This has become our go-to chinese delivery place. It has the standard stuff that we like and decent hot and sour soup plus veggie springrolls. We have also really gotten into their crispy chicken as a good option. Some stuff could be improved by its a good 3/5.
Reviewed by: John M. on: 7/28/2012 3:40:00 AM
I've only done take out here. But, sadly, this is the best Chinese food I've had in DC (besides Ping Pong for dim sum). The food seems to be a mix of decent to terrible.Do NOT try any 'thai' dishes from this place - they are garbage. The sushi is ok - I will probably get sushi delivery from this place now, as Wok N Roll makes me sick too often. The actual Chinese food is decent, but nothing to write home about.
Reviewed by: Jeff W. on: 7/18/2012 9:53:00 PM
We had a pretty nice experience here the other night. We ordered some sushi, veggie dumplings, and thai eggplant dish - and enjoyed them all. We thought the Sushi was good, though not necessarily spectacular.
Reviewed by: Vanessa Y. on: 6/7/2012 9:25:00 AM
I wasn't that pleased with my experience here. I went because I had a scoutmob deal. The crab and corn rangoon and seaweed salad were pretty good. The sushi was so so. We didn't have a problem until the check came. We put $80 down for a bill of $55 and she gave us change as if we had given $60. When we alerted the waitress she said she had to count her whole draw to be sure! Well of course she had given us incorrect change. Nobody really apologized for their mistake! Next time I'll go some place where they are a little more trusting of their customers...or they just know how to count.
Reviewed by: La S. on: 4/15/2012 9:16:00 PM
Is there a new owner? The last time I was here, I was totally turned off by the owner flipping over a dirty table cloth and trying to seat us there. They completely renovated the place. The restaurant is cleaner and the staff are really friendly.As for food... It's not bad. I wouldn't go across town for this place, but it's not bad if you live in the neighborhood. They can definitely improve some of their dishes. Like you'll be OK ordering the basics General Tso, Beef with Green Peppers, etc. But don't expect your soft shell crab in ginger scallion sauce to be awesome, it still had that carryout taste to it. Personally, for the amount of money you pay at this place, I would expect better because I've had better for the amount of money I pay at other Chinese restaurants. I recommend sticking to what you normally order from a carryout menu, that's where they seem to do better and pretty good.
Reviewed by: Boris S. on: 4/5/2012 7:11:00 AM
Drunken Noodle Thai Style $11 (4/5 NOMs).Well, sadly this won't make you drunk, but maybe just make your taste buds a bit tipsy. I was craving some simple soft flat noodles and this dish fully satisfied my cravings. Pork was very well prepared. Portion was generous too, I was fool. Great dish for all flat noodle lovers.Dragon and Phoenix $13 (4/5 NOMs).Let's mix two best things General Tso's Chicken with Hot & Spicy Shrimp! Chicken was amazing!!! I didn't really think Hot & Spicy Shrimp was all that hot & spicy, but the sauce was still very good.Yellow Curry Jumbo Shrimp $12 (4/5 NOMs).Felt more like a seafood dish with some sauce rather then curry. I'm used to my curry been spicier and with more liquid. Still this was a good dish that had a great flavor combination with shrimp and veggies. Maybe just not curry?Egg Drop Soup $2 (5/5NOMs).Excellent egg drop soup prepared exactly the way I like them, very thick eggy gooey soup. Great way to start lunch or dinner
Reviewed by: Cam G. on: 3/31/2012 12:33:00 PM
I like it. Good variety and service is always incredibly friendly (if you're not an obnoxious twit).Edit,Over time the concept has worn on me a little. Everything on the Asian continent is available not all of it done well. You have to get to know the best dishes and they always deliver. Good sushi. Good soup
Reviewed by: Jake S. on: 3/15/2012 2:09:00 AM
Since the transformation to the new Young Chow, this place is the best! I love the sushi and the new Asian dishes on the menu. The owner and wait staff are always friendly and welcoming. Bravo!
Reviewed by: Marc M. on: 3/7/2012 7:20:00 AM
My experience here is mostly with delivery/takeout. The food is very good and delivery is fast. Dining room service is not the best, but it's not terrible...food came out extremely quick. The general tso's is better than all the other places on the Hill that I've had.
Reviewed by: Jen G. on: 3/1/2012 8:29:00 PM
We used to LOVE this place, but as other reviewers have noted, they have changed the menu and the management.Way to let a great place go down the drain.Food was totally mediocre. My husband was so disappointed with the Kung Pao Chicken and Pork Fried Rice. It is not even the same dish.I ordered Moo Shi Shrimp and the shrimp was so overcooked it was nasty.We love ordering chinese take out every now and then, and this place is so bad that I would seriously consider driving across town to Mr. Chen's in Woodley from the Hill. UGH...
Reviewed by: tonydsanchez on: 2012-03-08
Ms. Chen, I want to start off by saying that I am a big fan of your restaurant; I order carryout or dine in at least once a week. Prior to Young Chow Chen coming under your management and reopening, it was mediocre at best. However, in my opinion, it is definitely the best Asian restaurant on Capitol Hill and one of the top in the city. However, this evening, I was greatly disappointed with what I ordered for carryout. I ordered the Drunken Noodle with shrimp and it was awful, not even edible. The noodles were very mushy and the dish had zero flavor. I literally took two or three bites and dumped the rest down my sink. I'm not emailing this feedback to get anything for free; my purpose is solely to provide feedback as I enjoy having a restaurant of such good quality in my neighborhood. I've lived on Capitol Hill for over 20 years and I've seen many restaurants come and go. Your place was particularly busy this evening, but that is no reason to choose speed over quality. I'd rather wait 30 minutes for a delicious dish than 5 minutes for something this is just "ok" or barely edible. I'm emailing this as I want your place to succeed as prior to today I've only had great food from Young Chow Chen. After today's meal, I'm a bit skittish about ordering a meal next week, but in the near future I'll give Young Chow Chen an opportunity to prepare me a meal of the high caliber that is generally your standard. Respectfully, Tony Sanchez